Hit & Run - Attended Vehicle

Burg & Lantz: WA Hit & Run Defense
Burg & Lantz: WA Hit & Run Defense

Give Us A Call: 206-467-2607

We have helped many people who are in a similar situation to you fight their charges.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 

What is Hit and Run Attended?

Hit and run attended is a very common offense in Washington State. Many drivers are accused of hit and run attended every year, and the potential criminal and licensing consequences can be serious.

What you should know:

Washington law requires that if you collide with another occupied vehicle you must provide your name, address, insurance company, insurance policy number and vehicle license number and show your license to the driver or occupant of the other vehicle.

Failure to do this constitutes the crime of hit and run attended. This is true even if the accident is the other driver's fault!

What you can do now:

There are many potential ways to resolve a hit and run attended case that can help you avoid a criminal conviction and a license revocation.While hit and run attended is a crime, many prosecutors (the people who bring the criminal charges against you) and courts may be willing to allow these cases to be resolved without a plea of guilty.

Some possible ways to resolve your case include things like a "compromise of misdemeanor" a "diversion" or "continuance with a dismissal" or a "bail forfeiture" which may allow you to avoid a criminal conviction and keep your record "clean." Unfortunately, not all courts allow such programs and not all prosecutors are willing to resolve cases this way.

This is when having a lawyer becomes particularly important, as it may take some fighting (i.e. litigation) to try and prevent a criminal record and a license revocation.Additionally, an experienced lawyer can advise you of some things you can do now to help increase the chances your case will be resolved without a conviction and license revocation.

Charged with Hit and Run Attended in Washington

A Washington State Hit and Run Attended charge is a gross misdemeanor criminal offense punishable by up to a maximum of 364 days and a $5,000.00 fine.

If Convicted:

A conviction for hit and run attended will revoke your driver's license for 1 year (see the DOL site for more information).Most people convicted of hit and run attended do not receive the maximum penalties. In fact, many people convicted of hit and run attended do not serve any jail time at all but may be required to pay fines, costs, and receive other burdensome conditions of probation.

However, only an experienced attorney can accurately advise you of what you might be facing on your hit and run attended case.Washington's hit and run attended statute is RCW 46.52.020 and reads as follows:

RCW 46.52.020: Duty in case of personal injury or death or damage to attended vehicle or other property - Penalties.

(1) A driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in the injury to or death of any person or involving striking the body of a deceased person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such accident or as close thereto as possible but shall then forthwith return to, and in every event remain at, the scene of such accident until he or she has fulfilled the requirements of subsection (3) of this section; every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.

(2)(a) The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting only in damage to a vehicle which is driven or attended by any person or damage to other property must move the vehicle as soon as possible off the roadway or freeway main lanes, shoulders, medians, and adjacent areas to a location on an exit ramp shoulder, the frontage road, the nearest suitable cross street, or other suitable location. The driver shall remain at the suitable location until he or she has fulfilled the requirements of subsection (3) of this section. Moving the vehicle in no way affects fault for an accident.(b) A law enforcement officer or representative of the department of transportation may cause a motor vehicle, cargo, or debris to be moved from the roadway; and neither the department of transportation representative, nor anyone acting under the direction of the officer or the department of transportation representative is liable for damage to the motor vehicle, cargo, or debris caused by reasonable efforts of removal.

(3) Unless otherwise provided in subsection (7) of this section the driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or death of any person, or involving striking the body of a deceased person, or resulting in damage to any vehicle which is driven or attended by any person or damage to other property shall give his or her name, address, insurance company, insurance policy number, and vehicle license number and shall exhibit his or her vehicle driver's license to any person struck or injured or the driver or any occupant of, or any person attending, any such vehicle collided with and shall render to any person injured in such accident reasonable assistance, including the carrying or the making of arrangements for the carrying of such person to a physician or hospital for medical treatment if it is apparent that such treatment is necessary or if such carrying is requested by the injured person or on his or her behalf. Under no circumstances shall the rendering of assistance or other compliance with the provisions of this subsection be evidence of the liability of any driver for such accident.

(4)(a) Any driver covered by the provisions of subsection (1) of this section failing to stop or comply with any of the requirements of subsection (3) of this section in the case of an accident resulting in death is guilty of a class B felony and, upon conviction, is punishable according to chapter 9A.20 RCW.(b) Any driver covered by the provisions of subsection (1) of this section failing to stop or comply with any of the requirements of subsection (3) of this section in the case of an accident resulting in injury is guilty of a class C felony and, upon conviction, is punishable according to chapter 9A.20 RCW.(c) Any driver covered by the provisions of subsection (1) of this section failing to stop or comply with any of the requirements of subsection (3) of this section in the case of an accident involving striking the body of a deceased person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.(d) This subsection shall not apply to any person injured or incapacitated by such accident to the extent of being physically incapable of complying with this section.

(5) Any driver covered by the provisions of subsection (2) of this section failing to stop or to comply with any of the requirements of subsection (3) of this section under said circumstances shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor: PROVIDED, That this provision shall not apply to any person injured or incapacitated by such accident to the extent of being physically incapable of complying herewith.

(6) The license or permit to drive or any nonresident privilege to drive of any person convicted under this section or any local ordinance consisting of substantially the same language as this section of failure to stop and give information or render aid following an accident with any vehicle driven or attended by any person shall be revoked by the department.

(7) If none of the persons specified are in condition to receive the information to which they otherwise would be entitled under subsection (3) of this section, and no police officer is present, the driver of any vehicle involved in such accident after fulfilling all other requirements of subsections (1) and (3) of this section insofar as possible on his or her part to be performed, shall forthwith report such accident to the nearest office of the duly authorized police authority and submit thereto the information specified in subsection (3) of this section.

 

Hit run attended

Accused of a Washington State Hit and Run Crime?

Give Us A Call: 206-467-2607

Menu